Coffee Dates With Jesus 


Do you ever just wish you could have a coffee date with Jesus? Sometimes, I think about what it would be like to be able to pour my heart out to Him and see Him smiling back at me tenderly while I sip my little vanilla latte. There’s a part of me that really struggles with the fact that I can’t hug Him or get that instant face-to-face attention I so crave. 

I feel that there are others out there like me too – those that desperately desire Jesus to be physically present with them. I don’t think we should ever deny our need for His presence, because we were created to need Him. However, just because we cannot see Him, it does not mean we should cease our heartfelt communication with Him. 

Lately, He has been nudging me to really open up to Him. I’ve told Him every fear that I store deep within – cried every tear that I tried so hard to hold back. As I open up to Him, I feel the weight lift off of my shoulders and hear Him remind me of how precious I am to Him. Through every moment of me sharing my heart with Him, I never feel alone. Although I can’t physically see Him, I feel His peace, His compassion and His love. 

Every time I trust Him to listen while I express my deepest cares, I develop a stronger relationship with Him. Our relationship will continue to grow until the moment I get to see Him face to face in eternity. Whenever the days get tough, that’s what I hold onto – that I will get to enjoy Him for eternity. In Heaven, He will be there to hug me and laugh with me and talk with me. We’ll get to spend time reflecting on all of the moments of my life when He was there comforting me even though I couldn’t see Him. Until that day comes, it’s still worth it to be vulnerable and share my heart with Him. 

“Because He bends down to listen, I will pray as long as I have breath!” -Psalm 116:2 (NLT) 

Friend, don’t let the fact that you can’t see Jesus keep you from coffee dates with Him. My favorite part of the morning is when I make my cup of coffee and spend time praying to Him, listening for Him and reading His Word. It’s our special time – our daily date. I encourage you to set aside a special time for you and Jesus, when you can let yourself be vulnerable and present. Let Him hold you and remind you that, even though you cannot see Him, He is still with you. 

Leave a Reply

