But First, Coffee? 

  

A few visits into Marshall’s, I had finally found it: the “but first, coffee” shirt. I had searched and searched there for a few weeks, hoping that they would come through and allow me to get my hands onto one of these beauties. I had seen different versions of these shirts on Instagram and Pinterest, and knew I just had to have one. That being said, when I finally found one, the coffee-lover in me was so ecstatic. 

As I thought about what the phrase “but first, coffee” means to us as a society, it basically implies that before anything (work, a fight, that serious talk, questions, decisions & choices, etc.), we must have some coffee! Coffee is what starts our day off right, keeps us running, wakes us up, gets our brain going, makes us happy, allows us to deal with people in a appropriate manner, clears our minds, helps us feel in control….or is it really?

In all seriousness, I think it’s totally okay to wear these shirts. It’s a light-hearted phrase that’s trendy and cute. If we took it a little deeper though, how true would that phrase be for you? 

“So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

-Matthew 6:31-34

Do we really go to God for our needs first, or do we go to something else? I mean the Bible says to call on Him and cast our cares upon Him, but do we really do that? Do we make it a point every morning when we wake up to talk to Him, or do we jet for that fresh cup of coffee or newsfeed on Facebook? When we are feeling lousy and low, do we pray and seek His fulfillment and love? Do we call upon Him when “we just can’t even”? 

These questions have my heart running diagnostic tests. Where do I go first? Do I run to coffee or food? Social media? Friends? It is truly something worth thinking about. I want to have an intimate, authentic relationship with my Heavenly Father. When I get to heaven one day, I want to feel like I’ve known Him forever; like I ran to Him first for everything. It’s a trust. A commitment. A beautiful thing. 

Maybe it’s time to check your heart and pay close attention to your habits. Who or what you are running to lately?  I encourage you to post about your experiences below in the comment section! 



8 thoughts on “But First, Coffee? 

  1. Reblogged this on Taking Back Today and commented:
    This post really hit home for me! I’ve been stressing over quite a few things lately, with our lease being up soon and school starting up again for me….I needed this. God has taken care of me so many times in nearly miraculous ways.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

